Sloan-C Awards

The Call for Nominations for the 2014 Sloan-C Awards is now available.  Please note that the deadline for submitting nominations for the 2014 Sloan-C Awards is July 15, 2014. 


The Sloan Consortium (Sloan-C) has recognized outstanding work in the field of online education through an annual awards process since 2001. The Sloan-C Nominations, Awards, and Recognition Committee has overall responsibility for overseeing and monitoring all Sloan-C awards, including

  • Existing awards
  • Proposing new awards
  • Establishing criteria for all awards
  • Creating and maintaining all procedures for nominations and selection
  • Proposing to the board financial or other considerations for all awards
  • Establishing/empaneling review committees as necessary 

The Sloan-C Awards for Excellence in Online Teaching and Learning

  • Excellence in Online Teaching
  • John R. Bourne Outstanding Achievement Award in Online Education
  • Bruce N. Chaloux Award for Early Career Excellence in Online Education
  • A. Frank Mayadas Leadership Award
  • Outstanding Online Program
  • Excellence in Faculty Development for Online Teaching
  • Excellence in Institution-Wide Online Education
  • Ralph E. Gomory Award for Quality Online Education

View the complete listing of the recipients of each of the Sloan-C awards from 2001-2013.

Chronology of the Sloan-C Awards

[Click on the link to view details about each year's Sloan-C Awards]

201320122011, 2010, 2009, 2008, 2007, 2006, 2005, 2004, 2003, 2002, 2001


Effective Practice Awards

More information about Effective Practices.
Submit an Effective Practice.
Click here to view Effective Practice Awards 

Sloan-C Fellows Program

Starting in 2010, the Sloan Consortium recognizes individual members of the Sloan Consortium as Sloan-C Fellows. Recognition as a Sloan-C Fellow is one of unusual professional distinction and is conferred by the Sloan-C Board of Directors upon individual members of the Sloan Consortium who have:

  • Outstanding and extraordinary qualifications in the field of online learning;
  • Significant experience in online learning or an allied field;
  • A record of distinguished service to Sloan-C or the field; and
  • Extraordinary contributions or leadership in the field of online learning.


Additional details about the program and listing of Sloan-C Fellows.


Sloan-C Nominations, Awards, and Recognition Committee

Burks Oakley II, University of Illinois, Chair
Cathy Cheal, San Jose State University, Vice Chair
Frank Mayadas, Alfred P. Sloan Foundation (retired)
Kenneth Hartman, Eduventures
Cassandra Herring, Hampton University
Sandra Coswatte, Sloan Consortium, Staff Liaison

More Information

To Call Us:

(781) 583-7561

To Contact Us:

Complete our contact form below to speak to someone about the Sloan-C Awards

* fields are required.

Are you currently a Sloan-C Member?

Referring URL:

Campaign List: